Hey everyone,

I am really enjoying term two of the One Year Part Time Acting Course in the Gaiety School Of Acting in Temple Bar.

We have dived right into scene and we have all finally picked our partners and our duologues. As I said in my last post I have picked a scene from The Clink, it’s a very gritty dramatic scene, and me and my partner are enjoying getting stuck in to it.

If anyone out there is looking for a good duologue book for female scenes or male and female, I bought a really great Duologue book to help me this time around, called More Duologes and it has some really good scenes in it.

One of the pros of being on a Gaiety course is that students get to avail of some other courses. There are a lot of weekend workshops in acting for camera etc and this week we got a two hour class in Comedy Improv.

I think a few people in the class were a bit scared of the idea of improv but we had the best laugh. We even stayed in class a half an hour late because we were so involved in what was going on.

We had the lovely Donal Courtney teaching us for the two hours and I was lucky enough to parter up with him for the entire class.

We had so much fun coming up with our own scenes and learning how to physically tell a story without saying any words.

Any of my class mates reading this will know things got a little bit weird later on in the class (our scenes were mad) but that just made us laugh harder.

Hopefully there will be a comedy improv workshop soon.

But next week we will be back to business as we work intensely on our scenes, our showcase is in a few weeks, and we are all pretty nervous but we know we can pull it off!

I’m really excited for my next class, and I’m looking forward to our showcase. I will be updating a blog on my experience at the Gaiety School Of Acting every week on Miss Red.

And for more insights for my acting visit my acting blog: www.alimryan.blogspot.com.
For more information on courses at the Gaiety visit their website:
Plus ‘Like’ them on Facebook:
Lots of Love,
A.R
xx
Tweet me: @SweetLikeAli
Like Miss Red on Facebook: Miss Red Blog