John-Healy

“Unfortunately I missed the first day of the course last week and really I wasn’t worried until I got the homework from Bill! You see, one of my biggest problems on camera is remembering my lines. I always forget them and get into a fluster! Off the cuff, no problem, but scripted, I always screw it up.  We always have to do a couple of takes. With A full restaurant of people and other celebs……..AWKWARD!! So by taking this course, this is something I hope to improve on.

The first class is learning a script word for word and repeating it with no prompts, no autocue, no ‘ahem’s’ or ‘ahhh’s’ or pauses of any kind! A Challenge!

I’ll be sure to keep you posted I get on! I’ve been learning it all afternoon and I am almost dreading this evening’s class!’ Oh well, here we go…..”

John Healy has been the Maitre’D at ‘The Restaurant’ on RTE since the first programme back in 2002. The Gaiety School of Acting are delighted to have John join the rest of our TV presentation class this term as he learns the tools of the trade and how to enhance his skills from veteran TV producer, Bill Hughes. John has kindly agreed to chronicle his experience of the course with us here on our blog over the next few weeks! We are looking forward to everything he has to say over the coming weeks! You can read more about John on the RTE website here.

The Gaiety School of Acting will be running another TV presentation course next term from Monday 15th April for 10 weeks. We are also hosting a one-day Intensive masterclass in TV presentation with Bill Hughes on Sunday 3rd February. To book into either of these courses please do feel free to call us on 01 6799277 or visit our website: www.gaietyschool.com